School crest Source  


Debating homepage 2016-17


Matheson Junior Debating National Mace

Congratulations to junior students  Jessica Welsh, Gearoid Campbell and Ibrahim Alaga on winning Leinster medals in the  Matheson Junior Debating National Mace, a debating competition for students in the junior cycle of secondary schools in Ireland. Preliminary rounds take place in schools around the country from September to February, with the National Mace Final taking place in April each year. Jessica has qualified for the national final which will be held in Belvedere College Dublin this Saturday.

Winner in the senior category of "The Speech" competition  Kwabena Wiredu from St. Oliver's Community College, gave an outstanding rendition of Barack Obamas farewell address letter to the American people. The Speech is an online competition where students submit a video of themselves  giving a rendition of a famous historical speech, which is then voted for by the public.


Jessica Welsh of St. Oliver's was runner up in the junior category of "The Speech" giving a rendition of Prince EA's speech  "How to sue a school system". Jessica also finished 15th in the country in the National Finals of Matheson Mace debating competition.
All debates were held in Belvedere College Dublin on the 25th of March. A massive word of thanks to Ms. Barbara Carr for all her hard work preparing the students for these competitions.


LMETB Junior Debating Competition

Friday May 5th saw the very best of Junior Debaters gather in St Oliver's Community College for the annual LMETB Junior Debating Competition.
Defending champions St Oliver's put forward two very strong teams to defend their title on the day. The opening round saw St Oliver's A take on Scoil Ui Mhuiri A with the motion The Internet Can Affect The Mental Health Of Young People. Meanwhile St Oliver's B took on Bush PP and Colaiste Na Mi took on Scoil Ui Mhuiri B with the same motion.
Winners of the opening round were St Oliver's A, St Oliver's B and Scoil Ui Mhuiri B.
The motion for the second round was This House Would Ban All Beauty Contests. It was a very strong St Oliver's A team and Scoil Ui Mhuiri A team who ultimately made it through to the final debating the motion This House Believes That Ireland Should Leave The EU. After a long deliberation by past pupils of St Oliver's and debating stalwarts Irene McDonnell and Sarah McKenna assisted by Jack Synnott, St Oliver's were declared the winners for the second year running.
St Oliver's A- Gearoid Campbell- Captain, Megan Greene, Sive Price and Jessica Welsh.
St Oliver's B- Adam Rydzinski- Captain, Emily Profir, Eseosa Ojo and Ibriham Alaga.