School crest Source  


Student theatre award winners 2014-15

Bord Gais Energy created these Student Theatre Awards two years ago to promote creative talent in our schools. Out of 3;303 entries St Oliver's was voted Best Overall School Play and Joseph Catlett won Best Actor in a Leading Role for his role as Romeo in St Oliver's Adaptation of 'Romeo and Juliet'. Inspired by Baz Luhrman's 1996 film starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Clare Danes, Miss Carr set about adapting this fast paced piece for the stage. Helped brilliantly by Kieran Gallagher's set design and the wonderful choir arrangements directed by Ann Marie Hannon and Philip Kennedy, this production graced the stage of the Droichead Arts Centre at the end of November last.
St Oliver's were thrilled to learn they had made the shortlist in February and were completely bowled over by their two awards last Wednesday at the Awards Ceremony in The Bord Gais Theatre hosted by Actor Simon Delaney.
The judging panel comprised of Simon Delaney, Evanna Lynch, Stuart Switzer, Stephen Fallon, Tanya Townsend and Marten Jonmark. They described Joseph Catlett's performance as outstanding and they said they didn't want to blink in case they missed a second of it. High praise indeed for the fifteen year old who wishes to act professionally in the future.

Congratulations to all students and teachers who were involved in the production of the play Romeo and Juliet. St Oliver's have won the best overall school play at the annual student theatre awards in Bord Gais Energy theatre this week. Also a huge well done to 3rd year student Joseph Catlett who takes home Best Performance award, for his role as Romeo.


The full cast of St. Olivers production of Romeo and Juliet with Senator Feargal Quinn, Major Kevin Callan and their teachers Barbara Carr, Anne Marie Hannon, Ciarian Gallagher and Philip Kennedy

Senator Feargal Quinn, Mayor Kevin Callan with cast members Joseph Catlett, Caoimhe Gordon, Roisin Feehan, Shane McAllister and play director Ms. Barbara Carr

the cast on stage

Play director Ms. Barbara Carr with her award outside the Bord Gais Energy Theatre