Student Awards 2014-15


The Annual Awards ceremony took place in St. Oliver’s Community College on Thursday night 14th May.  Principal Mr. John Halpin, staff and students of the college were joined at the ceremony by Mr. John Lonergan,  Fergus O Dowd T.D,  Lord Mayor Kevin Callan, Cllr. Richie Culhane, Mr. Dermot Reynolds, Mr Dan Toole, members of the Board of Management, members of the Parents Council, former teachers and a large gathering of proud parents and families.

The Ceremony was successfully hosted by Mr. Paul O Neill and over one hundred awards were presented on the night.

The major award winners included  6th year student Ciaran O Connor who won the  Paul Hoey/Marita Mc Guinness Student of the Year Award.  Ciaran was presented with a specially commissioned silver disc crafted by Elaine Hanrahan of the Millmount craft centre.  Rachel King and Eric Healy (6th year) shared the  Senior Student Award with the Junior  Award going to Julia Madojutimi and Jack Synott of 3rd year.

Sixth year student Caoimhe Gordon and third year student Joseph Catlett collected the Drama Award on behalf of the cast of Romeo and Juliet. The play which was performed by the students of St. Oliver’s in the Droichead Arts Centre last November won the Best Overall School Play in the Bord Gais Student Theatre Awards and Joseph won Best Actor in a Leading role for his portrayal of Romeo. The play was directed by Ms. Barbara Carr helped brilliantly by Mr Gallagher, Ms Hannon and Mr Kennedy.

The overall TY Activities Award was won by Louise Paul and Kwabena Wiredu of Transition Year. The Senior Science Student Award went to Ciaran O Connor.

Winners in the Senior Technical subjects included Gabby Grimberg, Cormac Carroll, Justine Mc Guirk, Conan Corbett, James Carolan, Christopher Keys, Andrew Donnelly, Alan Mc Keown and Ismail Adebowale.  Junior Technical subject winners included Joshua Pepper, Thomas Meade, Christopher Dempsey, Fintan Gibney, Kenan Johnson, Marianne Smith, Jack Dunne, Daniel Brennan and Christopher Keyes. 

Senior winners of the 2015 LMETB sponsored Gaeltacht Scholarships were Ceannah Taaffe, Sarah Minma, Rachel Ward, Sarah Callan, Lauren Bateson, Margaret Adegbite, Ciara Tiernan Byrne, Ciara Lynch, Brenda Haak, Katie Reynolds and Andrew Griffin.

First year students Byron Murphy and Tristan Kierans received  citizenship awards from Mr John Lonergan for their exemplary work for local charities in the town of Drogheda including raising money for the Children’s Ward in Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital and the Holy Angels Restoration Project in Calvary Cemetry.

 Mr Anthony O Callaghan presented Basketball player Paul Akin with the Larry Meegan Cup for Sports Star of the Year. Previous winners of this award are soccer stars Gary Kelly, Nicky Colgan, Sean and  Kevin Thornton, Grainne Kierans and former basketball stars Lorraine Grogan (the first ever winner of the Drogheda Independent Sports Star) and Lesley Ann Dobson.

Sixth Year Music students Amie Dyer, Ciara Brannigan and Shannon Carroll performed during the ceremony and the audience was treated to beautiful performances from the girls.

The night was a great success and a very enjoyable occasion for all concerned especially for the winning students and their proud parents and families. Congratulations to all!